I was stuck inside someone else’s life and always second best.

518

13. TulipFest: Tulip Luncheon

A month late, but here is my one minute reflection blurb given at the Tulip Luncheon during TulipFest. Honestly, a minute is not long enough to give a thorough account of my thoughts and feelings about this year, but I hope these are the highlights I will be remember and be able to fondly look back on in the future (here is the slideshow I made for the Luncheon that was never shared in its entirety, if interested):

11204906_10206796576496912_7245241600154987686_n

Service to my community, most especially to the least among us, has always been central to who I am, so it may not be surprising that the service aspect of the program is what initially excited me about becoming a Tulip. While the opportunity to serve Albany students, seniors, and everyone in between has been enlightening, in a selfish way, I have found the most rewarding part of my year as a Tulip to be the opportunity to immerse myself in the incredible breadth and diversity of events, cultures, and compassionate, vibrant people comprising the tight knit community of the City of Albany.

I moved from Maryland to the Albany area to attend Siena College and have continued my education as a student at Albany Medical College. A lot of my friends at school are from larger cities across the country and were, at first, doubtful of what Albany offers outside of the classroom. It has been my absolute delight to venture from event to event this year, soaking up the best of the best that Albany has to offer and then to share, even brag, about those experiences with my surprised classmates and friends, some who are even Albany natives themselves. If this year has taught me anything, it is that Albany’s tightly bound, warmhearted, and active community is what makes it unique. It is what makes me proud to call the capital of New York state my new home.

As I go forth, I will carry the lessons I’ve learned as a Tulip with me as I strive to make this world a better place, hopefully in the field of primary care after completing my medical training. I am also excited to share that I am training for my first iron distance or 140.6 mile triathlon while raising $8,300 for the Alzheimer’s Association in honor of my grandfather who passed away last Thursday and who would have turned 83 this month and the other resilient patients I have worked with this semester suffering with various forms of dementia. In the continued Tulip spirit of service to others, I intend on donating my entire $1,500 scholarship towards my fundraising efforts for the Alzheimer’s Association to help find a cure for Alzheimer’s Disease and provide support to those patients and their caregivers who suffer with or because of this debilitating illness that affects so many.

960x540

960x540-1

On this Mother’s Day weekend, I’d like to give a very special acknowledgement to my own fantastic mom and grandmothers back in Maryland, and those in my life who have acted as my Albany mentors and moms, especially Kate Kaufman Burns, Alison Wade, Dr. Kate Wagner, and Dr. Mina Sun. I would also like to thank David Karasz, Christopher Dollard, my advisor, Dr. Jonathan Rosen, and my brother and role model, Paul Yi, for being here to support me today, as well as Albany Medical Center and Albany Medical College for their continued support and dedication to providing and training physicians who provide compassionate, preeminent care to the Capital District.

I wish you all a very happy Mother’s Day and Tulip Festival. Thank you.


Congratulations and good luck to this year’s Tulip Queen and Court, Ali, Morgan, Jackie, Eva, and Sarah!


TulipFest: Tulip Luncheon

When and Where: Friday of TulipFest following the Street Scrubbing; this year’s event was held at 60 State Street

Highlights: A look back on the outgoing Tulip Court’s year and a formal introduction to the incoming Tulip Court, benefits the Tulip Fund, which benefits future Courts’ literacy programs

Loses points for: Sold out quickly this year

Cost: $50/person

Good for: Those with connections to the Tulip program

Would I go again?: A lot of former Tulips attend this annual event every year.

Leave a comment