If you said goodbye to me tonight, there would still be music left to write.

Julie plus the whole Manhattan College gang during our trip to Swaka-Waka

The group from Manhattan College left this morning, and I miss them already! We shared a lot of fun, hilarious, and once-in-a-lifetime moments with them over the past two weeks, and I am really happy to have met each and every one of them. They are all Education majors who either just graduated or are entering their senior year of undergrad, and based on their collective enthusiasm, passion for teaching, and relentless positive attitudes, I am confident that they will all make excellent teachers in the next few years. Last night, I was talking to one of their chaperones, Dr. McCarthy (a School of Education professor), about 1) how life is really just a journey; 2) how much other people impact my life and the impact that I have on other people-we are all helping each other become better people; 3) how blessed we are to live the lives that we lead; and 4) as long as you love yourself, that’s all that matters even if no one else understands you. And it’s all so true! These kids made Julie and me feel like we were a part of the group, and I am thankful for their service to the BNC during their stay here in Namibia and the lessons that they have taught me. I can’t wait to see them again when we’re back in the States-y’all better be coming to my cross country meets at Van Cortlandt Park since it’s right in your backyard! :)

Julie, me, Laura, Becks, Chris, and Dr. Nicholson on the Dolphin Tour in Swakop

Me, Danny, and Mike at dinner in Swakop

Best Namibian Friends :)

***

On the running-front, my left IT band is starting to act up, which really concerns me because that was what killed my track season last Spring. I was getting in decent mileage this week (and ran my longest run here yet-about 7.5 miles, which seems a little pathetic when I actually write it out), but I may just take it easy for a few days. I don’t want a repeat of last season’s no running/no crosstraining/go to the training room twice a day routine.

***

Tomorrow is yet ANOTHER public holiday here in Namibia, so the kids don’t have classes…again. The uncle of one of the volunteers here, Anita, who is from Austria donated a butt-load of money to take the 107 kids and 11 volunteers to a park about thirty minutes from Windhoek to see animals for a little field trip tomorrow! It’s interesting to think that they have lived in Africa all their lives, but this may be the first and only opportunity they ever have to see wild game. We are leaving bright and early tomorrow and I am beyond exhausted, so I had better get to bed!

Leave a Reply

